horror ART


The horror art contest leans on all those creepy creative crafts that support the expansion of the genre. Horror art as it is represented is diverse, and can lean on several forms as it works to express its message. The purpose of this category is to provide a platform where all horror artists can gain exposure for the message they work to share with the international horror community. Art projects from various creative mediums are awarded to expand that effort. Below are the submission requirements for the horror art contest:

  • You must be the original artist on the project. Any unauthorized use of another's work is considered both plagiarism and copyright infringement. Judges will explore whether the artwork or craft is original, being sold in mass production, or if the represented characters and elements are a reproduction of another artists original or copyrighted art, so be sure you are the original creator.  

  • All art submissions for this category may reflect arts and crafts not explored by other categories within this festival, which expands to areas that may not be fully reflected here. Though this category is broad, we expect original work that expands the interpretations found within the genre. That said projects should work to support the genre and it's evolution among the international horror community.

  • Submissions for this category must be reflected using digital images that reflect the artwork. You may use a total of 6 images to reflect a single project. Whether that be in sequence of creation, or still shots to showcase various perspectives of the project. Note that you cannot display only one shot to reflect your art project. Multiple projects may not be reflected using the 6 available image slots, however you may submit multiple entries to this category to reflect different projects.

  • All art projects must lean on the horror genre and the various subgenres that support it. 

  • Each project submission must be complete, please review the submission checklist provided on the submission page.


All art project submissions are judged by the CTFF Judging Panel that determines the CTDA and CTEA recipients for each award category based on evaluation of the following elements:

  • Expands the Horror Genre

  • Uniqueness of Concept or Element

  • Originality and Creativity

  • Visual Design

  • Artistic Impression

  • Craftsmanship

  • Inherent Meaning and Fulfilled Intent

  • Skills and Abilities

  • Quality of Technical Execution

  • Commercial Appeal

Untitled design (11).png